Bhopal: Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan has directed for effective relief and rescue arrangements to tackle excessive rain situation in the state. Disaster management teams should be ever ready to meeting any eventuality and act as soon as information is received. Chouhan was reviewing situation cropped up in the state due to rains here on Saturday. Revenue Minister Umashankar Gupta was also present on the occasion. The Chief Minister directed to maintain constant watch over situation and start operations immediately if any area is affected by floods. Alert should be maintained in all districts and people should be shifted to safer areas as soon as rivers and nullah start flooding. Disaster management control room should be kept open 24X7. Besides, water should not be released from dams simultaneously.
The meeting was informed that situation is now under control in flood affected areas of Rewa, Sagar and Bhopal divisions. In Satna district, 600 persons have been kept in relief camps. In Satna, five persons have been rescued from flood affected areas by helicopter. In entire state, 4,000 persons have been rescued by disaster management teams during last 3 days. Bhopal has recorded 175 mm rains till now since last night due to which there are reports about inundation of low-lying areas.
Administrative teams are undertaking relief and rescue operations since night. From Tawa reservoir 2 lakh cusec water is being released due to which water level of Narmada will rise at Hoshangabad. As precaution, low-lying areas there are being evacuated. So far, 8 persons have died due to rains in the state so far include 2 in Bhopal and one each in Tikamgarh, Rewa, Jhabua, Betul, Panna and Raisen. Control rooms 1079 and 0755-2441419 working round the clock.
The meeting was attended by Additional Chief Secretary Home BP Singh, DGP Rishi Kumar Shukla, Director General of Police Home Guards Maithilisharan Gupta, Principal Secretary Revenue KK Singh, Principal Secretary Urban Development Malay Shrivastava, Principal Secretaries to CM Shri Iqbal Singh Bains and SK Mishra, Principal Secretary Agriculture Rajesh Rajora, Commissioner Urban Development Vivek Agrawal, Bhopal Collector Nishant Warware, Municipal Commissioner Chhavi Bhardwaj and concerning officers.