Bhopal: BJP candidate Mangal Singh Dhurve won the seat by 13182 votes in the Ghoradongri assembly constituency by-election in Betul district. The counting of the votes held at the district headquarters on Thursday. The counting of seats had started at 8 am on Thursday, at Betuls School of Excellence premises amid tight security. The counting was done in 17 rounds. Elections had been conducted in the constituency on May 30. The constituency had seen a voter turnout of 74.48 per cent, out of which 76.59 per cent were male and 72.27 per cent female. Dhurve won the Ghoradongri seat (Scheduled Tibes) by defeating his closest contendor Pratap Singh Uikey of the Indian National Congress.
A total of seven candidates were in the fray for the election. The constituency has 2,19,404 voters including 1,12,313 men, 1,07,083 women and eight third genders. In 2013 Assembly polls, BJP candidate Sajjan Singh had won the Ghoradongri seat and this time as well, the saffron party has managed to retain the seat.
Sitting BJP member Sajjan Singh had died, which necessitated the bypoll. Madhya Pradesh BJP state President Nandkumar Singh Chouhan and newly-appointed General Secretary (Organisation) Suhas Bhagat have congratulated the voters and expressed happiness about the election of the partys candidate again. The victory had been clear after the 12th round of counting itself, with Uikey recording 49,546 votes, while Dhurve secured 60,436 votes, a poll official from the constituency told.